Mapping Codesys with Sensor through Ethernet I/P

Hi all,
I am new to Ethernet I/P communication protocol. I have found the address of the sensor that I want to read inside the datasheet. The problem is, where do I put these address that I have found inside the Codesys in order to read the value of the sensor? I want to read value Out3 and Out6.

Where should i put the address for Out3 and Out6 inside the Codesys?

Best regards,
Umair

Hi umairyamin,

If the sensor OUT3 and OUT6 signals are Digital Inputs these should correlate to Input Bit2 and Bit5.

Below are the steps to map these values:

I prefer to create Global Variables for easy access across different programs/applications within Codesys.

Step 1: Define Global Variables: BOOL for Digital I/O

Step 2: Map the Global Variable

Step 3: Access Global Variable Ethernet/IP Input within a Program

Hope this helps!

Attached is the demo project.
umairyamin_demo.project (356.2 KB)

Cheers,
Jacob Ball

1 Like

Hi Jacob,

wow. I really appreciate your effort to help me. Thanks a lot! I will try. Hope it works.

Best regards,
Umair

Hi Jacob,

the sensor is a thickness measurement sensor. The data should be analog input. But after i uploaded the EDS file, the datatype is automatically is in BOOLEAN. This is the EDS file provided by the supplier. Is there any step i can do to read the thickness?

Best regards,
Umair

I have tried the method that you showed me. Its just, I do not know where I can read the sensor’s value.

Umairyamin,
Often times EDS files provide multiple connections. According to your screenshot of the output values bytes are paired r at o your sensor value will be read as an integer. The screenshot of the variable napping you shared only consist of one byte.
Can you confirm that your EDS connection is correct for your device so you can monitor the needed values?

1 Like

Hi Barron,

yes. I have made mistakes. The sensor need 4 Bytes to read 1 value.